Fall seven times. Stand up eight.

Well I’ve just had a horror of a week.  And the worst part is its not going to get better any time soon.  It is not appropriate for me to go into details on this blog, as it is very personal and complicated and involves another person who deserves privacy. And it is all tangled up with my chronic illness, and my weight problems.

And in terms of my adherence to 12wbt principles, I made some very bad choices.  Wednesday night and Thursday night I indulged in some binge/comfort eating.  I can’t remember the last time I ate like that, my emotions were really controling my decision making.  After returning from my yoga class, (which I was very disappointed with – I have decided to seek out another teacher and say goodbye to $70) – Wednesday night I made the pizza – sweet potato and capsicum, yummo! But emotionally I just wasn’t satisifed.  So I kept on eating all night.  Finishing with a 100g block of dark chocolate.

Woke up determined to do better.  And I did, until I was cooking dinner for myself and my family.  I managed to polish off a packet of Swiss cheese slices while getting dinner ready, and Swiss cheese isn’t even on the ingredient list for Penang Chicken!  Late that night I thought another 100g block of dark chocolate was a good idea.  I know, why was it even in the house?  Well, I bought it that afternoon while buying the chicken because thought I was over the emotions, and initially I was only planning to have two squares.

Friday was much, much, much better.  It did end though with another 100g of dark chocolate. (They were two for five dollars on Thursday at the supermarket).  Good news is I know I like Lindt “Passion fruit intense”.

Woke up this morning knowing I can make choices to make today better.  Its going okay so far.  I’ve got a list of strategies ready to make sure if my emotions get out of control I can do something besides eat to get them to go away.

Could not resist including this picture.  Master G and Miss G both do Taekwondo.  Their instructor is a big fan of Chuck Norris – seriously, forget Jackie Chan and Bruce Lee.  😉

This picture makes me smile – big time.  Mastering a martial art is all about self discipline, Master G has shown me that the last few years.

Could you ever imagine Chuck inhaling a whole packet of Swiss cheese slices, or three 100g blocks of dark chocolate over three nights because he was feeling sad about something?

Chuck Norris fact of the day: Chuck Norris can teach an old dog new tricks.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Kratzmann
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 13:31:16

    Don’t be too hard on yourself – I love your comment about Lindt Passionfruit intense!! Just know that when you fall you can always get back up again. Did you like the Penang Chicken? I loved it!! And you know what they say about Chuck Norris? Once he ate a whole cake before his friends could tell him there was a stripper in it 🙂

    Reply

  2. 77noni
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 14:35:38

    Hi Sue 🙂

    I discovered part of the reason it is just so damn good as I was putting the empty packet in the recycling this morning – it has pieces of almond too! Once things are on an even keel for me again, it will be my chocolate treat of choice – as I proved to myself between last round and this round that I can break off two squares and leave it alone until the next *planned* treat.

    It might sound like I’m being hard on myself, but trust me I’m not. I am not beating myself up over the last few days choices, just acknowledging and moving on. I have had a history of being *very* unkind towards myself, but no more.

    The Chicken Penang has been a big hit in our house – it is Miss G’s favourite Mish meal. During the preseason she would have had it as her choice every week on the weekly menu if I let her. Now that we are doing the 12wbt program again, Mr G, Miss G and Master G just get to take turns choosing the weekly treat meal and meat free Monday. Other five days are from the menu plan from Mish. Miss G thought I had cooked the Chicken Penang as a treat for her – I didn’t have the heart to tell her the truth, that she only had it because Mish she she *had* to 😉

    Love your Chuck Norris fact. I discovered a website that lets you print customised Chuck Norris tshirts using a fact of your choice. Going to order one for Master G’s birthday!

    Leonie x

    Reply

  3. Kristi
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:44:58

    Frowny face for the bad week Leonie- I hope the next one is A LOT better for you. (Not Alot, this is a cool post about an Alot) http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com.au/2010/04/alot-is-better-than-you-at-everything.html
    PS- The Lindt chocolate in our fridge never lasts long either.

    Reply

    • 77noni
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 09:39:59

      Thanks Kristi 🙂

      #runningbuddy Susan (or Sandra – not really sure 😉 ) have just returned from a walk in Lawson to a little known trig station – so these next seven days are off to a better start. Love the link about Alot – but you did make me paranoid – I have reread my post three times to see if I had used it.

      Just popped into the local shops with #runningbuddy – sadly no Passion Fruit Intense in stock there.

      Leonie x

      Reply

  4. Sandra
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 17:01:18

    Leonie – my whole family loved the Penang Chicken too!!! Even my 16 year old daughter who is not into Asian style food let alone curries loved it…OK, will you please stop talking about that chocolate…??? You know I will be “stumbling” upon some and just have to try it…sounds divine…
    Love your Chuck Norris emotions poster…too funny.
    BTW,it’s Susan here, please ignore and disregard the fact that my name comes up as Sandra…that’s a mistake 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

    • 77noni
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 09:43:29

      Hi Susan 🙂

      Enjoyed the walk this morning.

      Note to self, instead of eating feelings late at night hop on treadmill or put on yoga DVD.

      At least you know now the local shops do not stock Lindt Excellence Passion Fruit Intense – they did however have the 100g almond variety in stock. Mwahahahaha

      I might have to get myself a Chuck Norris tshirt too.

      Leonie x

      Reply

  5. Kristi
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:02:10

    LOL Leonie- I didn’t post the Alot link for you to check your grammar! Just to have a smile at a big friendly fluffy creature 🙂 xxx Passionfruit Intense hey… I will have to check it out… dangerous!!

    Reply

    • 77noni
      May 05, 2012 @ 22:15:59

      Mmmmmm Passionfruit Intense.

      Saw it yesterday in Woolies and kept on walking. I want to fit into the finale dress MORE than I want that chocolate right now. Might have some in the bag for the flight home from Melbourne 😉

      xx

      Reply

  6. shrinkchick
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 18:17:12

    Hey Leonie,
    Big hugs to you sweetpea!!
    At least your being completely honest andf are owning it.
    Keep going..a new day is a new day..your next meal is a new chance etc etc. You get what I mean:)
    xxKirsty

    Reply

    • 77noni
      May 05, 2012 @ 22:18:01

      Hi there Kristy 🙂

      Thanks for the hugs (yes I did read this comment when you posted, just getting around to replying now) – they meant a lot to me.

      I think I have been in denial for so long, its so important to be honest with myself.

      You are so right – its all about baby steps – one day at a time and never giving up.

      Reply

Leave a comment